Preseason Athletic Camps 2017-18

Preseason Athletic Camps are by invitation only. They run from Monday, August 21 through Friday, September 1 at noon. The exception is Equestrian which ends on Friday, August 25.

The following information is required before you can participate in Preseason:

  • Completed health forms including the Student Physical Examination form for 2017-18 and proof of acceptable health insurance (Private or UnitedHealthcare through George School)
  • Updated contact information completed by parents on my.georgeschool.org
  • Preseason Camp Contract signed by student and parent/guardian

*The Student Physical Examination form is due August 1 and proof of acceptable health insurance is due July 1.

What to bring

View packing list for preseason athletic camps

Preseason registration

Monday, August 21 from 8:30 to 10:00 a.m. in the Fitness & Athletics Center.

Schedules

arrow_smallBoys Cross Countryarrow_smallGirls Cross Country
arrow_smallBoys Soccerarrow_smallGirls Soccer
arrow_smallEquestrianarrow_smallGirls Tennis
arrow_smallField Hockeyarrow_smallGirls Volleyball
arrow_smallFootball

Contact information

Glenn Curry
Preseason Camp Director
215.579.6680
gcurry@georgeschool.org

SportCoachEmailSummer Phone
Boys Cross CountryMichael Toomeymtoomey@georgeschool.org215.579.6541
Boys SoccerPaul Machemerpmachemer@georgeschool.org215.493.8015
EquestrianTiffany Taylorttaylor@georgeschool.org215.579.6710
Field HockeyNancy Bernardininbernardini@georgeschool.org215.579.6688
FootballGeorge Longglong@georgeschool.org215.579.6679
Girls Cross CountryMichael Toomeymtoomey@georgeschool.org215.579.6541
Girls SoccerJohn Stevensjstevens@georgeschool.org215.579.6543
Girls TennisCheri Mellorcmellor@georgeschool.org215.431.7767
Girls VolleyballTim Majortmajor@georgeschool.org603.264.6528

Preseason housing

  • Preseason boarders stay in campus dormitories from Monday, August 21, through Friday morning, September 1. Boys stay in Drayton and girls stay in Central Main.
  • Preseason rooms are assigned upon arrival.
  • Coaches and/or hall teachers provide supervision in each dorm.
  • Due to the need to prepare the dormitories for the arrival of the general boarding population, all non-prefect athletes are asked to vacate the dormitories on Friday, September 1. If that is not possible, on-campus lodging arrangements will be made by the Deans’ Office.
  • We ask that you not bring all of your belongings until you move into your own room on Sunday, September 4. If this is not possible, please let Glenn Curry know in advance, so that arrangements can be made.

Dining

Athletes are expected to eat all meals in the dining hall. Breakfast is served from 7:00 to 8:00 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and dinner is served from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Medical emergencies

An athletic trainer is on campus during the day and a nurse is in the Student Health and Wellness Center. We use St. Mary’s Medical Center for any emergencies.

Check-in for the 2017-18 school year

  • Boarders check-in on Sunday, September 3 between noon and 2:00 p.m. in the lobby of your assigned dorm.
  • Prefects who are also attending preseason, move into their assigned dorm rooms on Wednesday, August 30.