George School Math Team Scores Another Winning Season

The George School Math Team scored another winning season during the 2020-2021 academic year, starting with their third straight first-place win in the Philadelphia Math League competition. The team also captured four of the top ten individual spots.

Next up for the team was the national Math Madness competition. This year the team ended with a 6-1 record and was ranked 39th among the 700+ schools that participated. Math Team scored an 18th place finish out of 188 high school teams in the winter international Trinity Math Contest (TrinMaC).

“Considering that the teams in the TrinMaC virtual contest were some of the strongest math school in the world, our finish was awesome,” said Kevin.

Due to the virtual requirements, a relatively small number of students took the Mathematical Association of America’s AMC exam, but six qualified for the AIME exam. They were Wilson Chen ’23, Forest Ho-Chen ’22, Jason Liu ’22, Justin Liu ’23, Zachary Spangler ’22, and Ellen Zhang ’21. Ellen was placed on the Honor Roll of Distinction with a score in the top one percent of the national test-takers. Justin and Wilson received certificates of distinction for their top marks as well.

The American Invitational Mathematics Examination (AIME) is a challenging competition offered for those who excelled on the AMC 10 and/or AMC 12. It is a 15 question, 3-hour examination, and the questions are much more difficult than those on the AMC 10 and AMC 12. Top scoring participants on the AIME are invited to participate in the USA Mathematical Olympiad.

“There is still another competition to come,” said Kevin Moon, Math Department head. “We are hoping for a USAMO qualifier (top 200-ish in the country), but those results for that are not yet available. Stay tuned for more Math Team news.”

The math team members include Walter Chang ’23, Alex Chen ’24, Wilson Chen ’23, Linglong Dai ’23, Jimmy Ding ’23, Forest Ho-Chen ’22, Ian Hopkins ’22, Zachary Kalb ’22, Jason Liu ‘22, Justin Liu ’21, Edwin Onyango ’21, Zachary Spangler ’22, Vinay Thulasiram ’23, Tommy Wang ’21, Wade Wang ’23, and Ellen Zhang ’21.

More News